New to 33bertram

Use this section to post items for sale.
DaveCroucher

New to 33bertram

Post by DaveCroucher »

I am new to 33 Bertram and I am thinking of purchasing a 33 Sport Fish. I live in Northern California and will mainly be using the boat inland on the California Delta. I am currently looking at a 33 with gas motors. Although The motors have low hours I am thinking of replacing with newer fuel injected motors. The reason for sticking with gas is of course money, but also the fact the I will be on the Delta most of the time with the occasional trip to San Francisco. Any suggestions on what engine model to chose along with what transmission? What sort of cost would I be looking at? Thank you for your time. Dave Croucher
IRGuy
Commodore
Commodore

Post by IRGuy »

Welcome Dave! Here you will find a great bunch of guys who are probably the best source of info on Bertram 33s anywhere. I can't help you with gas engines because I have diesels, but there are several regulars with gas boats so I am sure your questions will be answered soon. One thing I will warn you about though is the fact that all B33s have fiberglas tanks and there have been several gas boats that have had engine problems due to ethanol in gas leaching some materials from the tanks and causing valve problems.. also ethanol holds water very well, to the point that there is a concern about an ethanol/water layer forming at the bottom of the tank and eventually being sucked into the carburetors. I do have a question for you though.. not being all that familiar with CA.. what is the CA Delta? There are a couple B33s in CA, so you might find someone near you here.
Frank B - IRGuy@aol.com "Phoenix" 1983 FBC Cummins 6Bs - 315HP Wilmington, NC
greysole
Commander
Commander

Post by greysole »